School Health Advisory
Posted on 05/25/2021

To align with current Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommendations, the 2020 General Assembly passed House Bill 1090 which amends the minimum vaccination requirements for attendance at a public or private elementary, middle or secondary school, child care centers, nursery schools, family home day care, or developmental center.

 

Superintendent’s Memo #095-21

April 9, 2021

 

House Bill 1090 Immunization

Frequently Asked Questions for Parents (English)

The Virginia General Assembly passed House Bill 1090 which effectively requires Virginia’s immunization recommendations and requirements to coincide with the recommendations of the Centers for Disability Control (CDC) Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). To access VDH’s immunizations resources.

 

What are the changes regarding kindergarten school entry vaccination requirements?

  • Before children enter kindergarten they now need two properly spaced doses of the hepatitis A vaccine (HAV). The first dose should be administered at age 12 months or older. The HAV vaccine requirement is an addition to the existing kindergarten vaccine requirements according to the ACIP vaccine schedule. Prior to the law going into effect children entering kindergarten were not required to have the HAV vaccine.

 With the new requirements, are students in first grade and above required to receive the HAV vaccine doses?

  • No, rising first grade students and above will be considered “grandfathered” and will not be required to receive the HAV vaccine doses. 

If a first grade student comes to Virginia from out of state, will they be required to have the HAV vaccine doses for school entry?

  • No, the first grader is not required to have the Hep A series, however, it is recommended.

 If a Kindergarten student presents with only one dose of the HAV vaccine on the first day of school, can the student receive a conditional enrollment?

  • Yes, the student can receive a conditional enrollment as long as the student has received the first dose of the HAV 2-dose series. The conditional enrollment period is 180 days.

 What are the changes regarding seventh-grade school entry vaccination requirements?

  • Children entering seventh grade are required to present proof of their first dose of the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine, one booster of the tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis vaccine (Tdap), and their first dose of the meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MenACWY). All are required for both boys and girls before entering the seventh grade.

 My child is entering the twelfth grade, what vaccines will they need to enter school?

  • If your child is entering twelfth grade, they will need to have a booster dose of the meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MenACWY).

 If a rising twelfth grade student has already received a dose of the MenACWY at the age of 11, is the student required to have the second dose of the vaccine, or has the requirement been met?

  • The twelfth grade student would still need the MenACWY at 16 years of age or older, regardless of the MenACWY dose received at 11 years of age.

 Can a student be conditionally enrolled if they do not have the required vaccinations before school starts?

  • In order for a student to be conditionally enrolled, the student must have proof of having received at least one (1) dose of each of the required immunizations and have a schedule on file to receive the remainder of the required doses within 90 days (or in the case of hepatitis A and hepatitis B, 180 days). Therefore, if the student has not received the 1st dose of the meningococcal vaccine, the student is not eligible to receive a conditional enrollment.

 With the new requirements, are rising eighth through eleventh grade students, required to receive two doses of MenACWY?

  • No, rising eighth through eleventh grade students will be considered “grandfathered” and will not be required to receive the seventh grade MenACWY dose.

 If a child without any high risk conditions received a dose of MenACWY (Menactra, MenQuadfi or Menveo) vaccine at age ten years, does the child need to be revaccinated at age 11–12 years?

  • No. ACIP considers a dose of MenACWY given to a ten year-old child to be valid for the first dose in the adolescent series. Doses given before age ten years should not be counted. The child should receive the second (booster) dose at age 16 years as usual.

 If a student is missing the HPV vaccine, will they be allowed to attend school?

  • A parent or guardian has the right to decide if a child receives the HPV vaccine. A student is allowed to attend school and be missing HPV. Parents are encouraged to discuss this with your healthcare provider.

 

 

DOE_Superintendent_Memo_095-21.pdf

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.